The remark­able impact of the struc­ture of food beyond nutri­tion­al con­tent or com­po­si­tion.

Sub­scribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutri­tion newslet­ter and get the Evi­dence-Based Eat­ing Guide: A Healthy Liv­ing Resource from Dr. Greger and NutritionFacts.org. Sign up at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/healthkit.

In case you missed my pre­vi­ous cere­al video, check out The Worst Food for Tooth Decay (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-worst-food-for-tooth-decay). It’s crazy how the same prod­uct can have such dif­fer­ent effects on the body based on its pro­cess­ing. Beyond just focus­ing on whole rather than refined grains, the wholi­est of all is intact grains. Instant oats are bet­ter than pow­dered oats, rolled oats are bet­ter than instant, steel-cut oats bet­ter than rolled, and intact oat groats are the best!

Check out this great cook­ing video of my Morn­ing Grain Bowls (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/recipe-morning-grain-bowls/) from the How Not to Die Cook­book (http://nutritionfacts.org/cookbook).

More on the ben­e­fits of whole grains can be found in:
• How to Pre­vent High Blood Pres­sure with Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-high-blood-pressure-with-diet/)
• Can Oat­meal Reverse Heart Dis­ease? (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-oatmeal-reverse-heart-disease/)
• How to Change Your Enterotype (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-change-your-enterotype/)
• The Five to One Fiber Rule (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-five-to-one-fiber-rule/)
• Resis­tant Starch & Colon Can­cer (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/resistant-starch-colon-cancer/)
• Get­ting Starch to Take the Path of Most Resis­tance (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/getting-starch-to-take-the-path-of-most-resistance/)
• How Not to Die from High Blood Pres­sure (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-not-to-die-from-high-blood-pressure)
• Gut Micro­bio­me – Strike It Rich with Whole Grains (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/gut-microbiome-strike-it-rich-with-whole-grains/)
• Best Foods to Reduce Stroke Risk (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/best-foods-to-reduce-stroke-risk/)
• Micro­bio­me: We Are What They Eat (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/microbiome-we-are-what-they-eat/)
• Pros and Cons of a Mac­ro­bi­ot­ic Diet (https://nutritionfacts.org/video/pros-and-cons-of-a-macrobiotic-diet/)
• Ben­e­fits of a Mac­ro­bi­ot­ic Diet for Dia­betes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/benefits-of-a-macrobiotic-diet-for-diabetes)

Have a ques­tion about this video? Leave it in the com­ment sec­tion at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-is-a-better-breakfast-cereal-or-oatmeal and some­one on the NutritionFacts.org team will try to answer it.

Want to get a list of links to all the sci­en­tif­ic sources used in this video? Click on Sources Cit­ed at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/which-is-a-better-breakfast-cereal-or-oatmeal. You’ll also find a tran­script and acknowl­edge­ments for the video, my blog and speak­ing tour sched­ule, and an easy way to search (by trans­lat­ed lan­guage even) through our videos span­ning more than 2,000 health top­ics.

If you’d rather watch these videos on YouTube, sub­scribe to my YouTube Chan­nel here: https://www.youtube.com/subscription_center?add_user=nutritionfactsorg

Thanks for watch­ing. I hope you’ll join in the evi­dence-based nutri­tion rev­o­lu­tion!
‑Michael Greger, MD FACLM

Cap­tions for this video are avail­able in sev­er­al lan­guages. To find yours, click on the set­tings wheel on the low­er-right of the video and then “Subtitles/CC.”

http://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Sub­scribe: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• HOW NOT TO DIE: http://nutritionfacts.org/book
• Face­book: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twit­ter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Insta­gram: http://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Pod­cast : http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

source